Celebrating Family

WEEK 9

It only took about a year to cover, but the ninth week of Asia’s Next Top Model finally means the finale is here! Despite randomly stopping in the middle of this season, I think this was an alright season of Top Model. I’ll cover more about my final thoughts on this season in my next post, though– for now, let’s talk about this week. I like this photoshoot, I think it’s cute. For such a concept, the images this week could have turned out awful and totally cramped, but as a whole, I thought the final three performed very well for the final week of the competition. I love two of these pictures, and the third is pretty solid too. The season ended with one of the girls being named Asia’s Next Top Model, and I do not think that the right girl won whatsoever, but that is definitely something I will talk about more in my final recap post.

1. Mia (Runner-up)

This is quite wonderful. I’m happy that, despite her past few hiccups, Mia has decided to end the competition with a very good image! This is what I expected Mia’s skincare picture to look like– lively, full of energy, and with a fantastic smile. Mia’s smile is radiant. Her body, too, is an absolute standout. Mia looks very tall here, her proportions are incredibly good, and I like the partial movement Mia created with the dress. As a whole, this picture is definitely comparable to one of those D&G-type ads; this picture looks very legitimate. Mia looks like a model and finished the season very well. Of this final three, she would have probably been my pick for winner.

2. Dana (Winner)

And Dana ended up taking the crown. Disappointing, though I think a lot of us expected this as she was continuously overrated by the judges. Nonetheless, just like Mia, I think Dana delivered a kick-ass image. I particularly enjoy Dana’s pose here, actually! She’s finally doing something more than just standing (or sitting) there. That dress hugs Dana’s body really well, and I love those puffy sleeves. The face is also nice. Dana herself has a rather pedestrian look to me, but I think she delivered a strong closeup, in addition to a strong full shot. By no means do I think Dana was deserving of taking home the title, but I do think she ended the season with one of her best pictures in the competition.

3. Adela (Runner-up)

Compared to Mia and Dana, Adela definitely underperformed this week. There’s nothing technically wrong with this picture. I still think Adela stands out, she looks fairly tall, she looks pretty. But on the flip side of things, this picture is not nearly as remarkable as Mia’s and Dana’s pictures. I think Adela’s lack of expression and lack of pose are totally to blame for this. Adela’s smiling but her eyes lack energy, and I do not think this is the most attractive angle for her face. The only aspect of Adela’s body that I enjoy here is probably the slight leg being shown. Otherwise, I think Adela is just standing there. Overall, this is definitely the most underwhelming picture of the week.

AVERAGES
1. Jachin (3.0) 3/1/2/5/1/6 – (Eliminated Week 6)
2. Beauty (3.1) 2/5/7/3/6/1/1/1/2 – (Eliminated Week 8)
3. Mia (3.4) 1/2/1/6/7/3/6/3/4/1 – (Runner-up)
4. Adela (4.2) 8/7/5/1/5/2/3/5/3/3 – (Runner-up)
5. Dana (4.3) 5/8/4/7/2/4/4/2/5/2 – (Winner)
6. Pim (4.4) 11/3/8/2/4/5/2/4/1 – (Eliminated Week 8)
7. Vy (4.7) 7/4/3/4/3/7/5 – (Eliminated Week 7)
8. Rubini (6.8) 4/9/6/8 – (Eliminated Week 4)
9. Iko (8.0) 6/10 – (Eliminated Week 2)
10. Han (8.4) 9/6/10/9/8 – (Eliminated Week 5)
11. Sharnie (10.0) 10 – (Eliminated Week 1)
12. Jesslyn (10.7) 12/11/9 – (Eliminated Week 3)

ELIMINATIONS
Adela: 2
Beauty: 0
Dana: 1
Han: 3
Iko: 0
Jachin: 0
Jesslyn: 2
Mia: 1
Pim: 0
Rubini: 0
Sharnie: 0
Vy: 1

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Andrew

     /  December 23, 2019

    Am I the only one who thinks that Mia’s smile looks rather evil?

    Reply
    • Actually, I can totally see the cynicism in her expression! I still really like the shot though.

      Reply
  2. moonlover

     /  April 27, 2020

    are you planning on doing grntm season 4? season 5 will be out by autumn probably

    Reply

Leave a comment

Coverage NTM (like ur coverages could nevah)

Coverage of NTMs that were not coverage.. mkay

JK's NTM Blog

Just because you're a model, doesn't mean you're fashion.

Potledomland

Next Top Model rankings by PotLedomLand

ntmfreak's Blog

it all about my opnion and my ranking on any next top model

alltopmodel

hot ass mess

MrSimpsonsMad22's Blog

An All Next Top Model Blog